Skip to main content

Beat the Street Limerick shortlisted for All Ireland Community & Council Award

By January 8, 2018March 9th, 2023No Comments

Beat the Street has been recognised for its success in encouraging people in Ireland to get active and improve their health after being shortlisted for an All Ireland Community & Council Awards 2018.

The All Ireland Community & Council Awards highlight unique projects and initiatives that enhance their local area for the good of the community. Beat the Street Limerick has been named as a finalist in the Best Community Health Initiative category alongside Breaking Down Stereotypes Intergenerational DVD, It’s For Girls, Naas Neighborhood.

More than 14,000 people ran, walked and cycle 105,000 miles in the city of Limerick for Beat the Street in Autumn 2017. The game was successful at reducing inactivity — at the start of the game, 9% of players reported being active on only 0-1 days of the week, this had reduced to just 3% at the end of the challenge.

Limerick was one of three areas in Ireland that piloted Beat the Street along with Dublin and Waterford County — in total, 37,000 from the Republic of Ireland took in the community health initiative.

Anna Grant, Engagement Manager for Beat the Street Limerick, said: “It is fantastic to see Beat the Street Limerick shortlisted and commended for its success in promoting physical activity in Limerick. We are incredibly proud of what we’ve achieved in Limerick so far and we will continue to encourage even more people to get moving and become active in the months following the game.

Beat the Street is being delivered by Intelligent Health with support from Limerick Sports Partnership and is funded by Limerick City & County Council, Sport Ireland, Healthy Ireland and Dormant Accounts. The aim of the initiative is to encourage thousands of people to explore Limerick with their friends and family and discover something new about their city.

The winners of the All Ireland Community & Council Awards 2018 will be announced at an awards ceremony at Croke Park Stadium on Saturday 3 February.